Call 911 if anyone is in immediate danger.
How Do I get a Protection Order? | Who Can I Talk With? | Domestic Violence | Sexual
Assault | Vulnerable
Adults | Anti-Harassment | Forms
The law defines domestic violence as physical harm, bodily injury, assault, including sexual assault, stalking, OR the infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury or assault. This includes a wide variety of abusive behaviors: pushing, shoving, hitting, slapping, biting, choking or other conduct which causes harm or puts you in fear of being hurt at the time can be domestic violence. To be considered domestic violence, these actions must occur between family or household members. Family or Household Member
Under the domestic violence law, this includes:
- Former spouses
- Persons who have a child in common - whether or not they have been married or have lived together at any time
- Adult persons related by blood or marriage
- Adult persons residing together now or who have resided together in the past
- Persons 16 years of age or older who are residing together now or have resided together in the past and who have or had a dating relationship
- Persons 16 years of age or older who have or had a dating relationship
- Persons who have a biological or legal parent-child relationship, including stepparents and stepchildren and grandparents and grandchildren
Domestic Violence Protection Order Forms
Please be informed that the Clerk's Office cannot provide legal advice on filling out these forms or identifying which forms you need to fill out.
If you are filing a domestic violence protection order and need assistance to fill out the documents, you can contact Skagit Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Services at 360-336-9591 or call the 24 hour hotline at 1-888-336-9591 or www.skagitdvsas.org.
An Order for Protection is a court order that restrains the person who has been committing acts of violence or threats of violence, anti-harassment, sexual assault or elder abuse from further acts.
Confused? Who Can I Talk To?
If you want to talk to someone to get your general questions answered please call the Clerk's Office at 360-416-1800.
in Skagit County responds to all domestic violence calls and may order either you or your spouse to leave the home.
Always call 911 if anyone is in immediate danger.
- Sheriff's Office 416-1911
- Anacortes Police 293-4684
- Burlington Police 755-0921
- Mount Vernon Police 336-6271
- Sedro Woolley Police 855-0111
Skagit Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Center has advocates who can offer support, assist you in filling out protection order paperwork, help connect you to resources and talk with you about ways to stay safe. Free assistance at 360-336-9591 or call the 24-hour hotline at 1-888-336-9591.
Prosecuting Attorney - 416-1600
Child Protective Services - 800-794-9402 or after hours 800-562-5624
Washington State Domestic Violence Coalition
Assistance for Vulnerable Adults/Elder Abuse
DSHS Child & Vulnerable Adult/Elder Abuse Hotline - 1-866-363-4276
Abuse Hotline for Nursing Homes - 1-800-562-6078
Adult Protective Services - 1-800-487-041
What Kind of Protection Orders are There?
In Washington State there are six types of Protection Orders:
Domestic Violence Protection Order: This order protects family members and others who have a household relationship with the abuser, and acts of violence or stalking have occurred or you are fearful that acts of violence will occur. This order can be obtained in Superior Court. There is no filing fee or cost for copies. The law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction serves the other party at no cost.
Domestic Relations Restraining Order: Parties must be either married or have a child in common. This order can restrict or prohibit a party from access or proximity to the other. It can also restrict a party from disposing of property, harassing, threatening, assaulting or in any other manner disturbing your peace; entering your residence or former co-residence; and/or removing children from the state's jurisdiction.
This order can only be issued in Superior Court in conjunction with an additional action such as a dissolution, legal separation, child custody, modification of a parenting plan/child support or paternity. The Clerk's Office has form packets for a Restraining Order. There is a $280 filing fee, which may be waived. Petitioner is responsible for serving the other party.
Sexual Assault Protection Order: This order protects any person 16 or older who is a victim of nonconsensual sexual conduct who does not have a household relationship with the abuser. The sexual assault does not need to be reported to law enforcement or prosecuted. This order is obtained in Superior Court. There is no filing fee or cost for copies. The law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction serves the other party.
Vulnerable Adult Protection Order: This order protects adults 60 years and older or other adults who meet certain conditions from physical, sexual, psychological, financial abuse and neglect. This order can be obtained in Superior Court. There is no filing fee or cost for copies. Petitioner is responsible for serving the other party.
Anti-Harassment Protection Order: This order protects persons from knowing and willful course of conduct directed at a specific person which seriously alarms, annoys or harasses such person. This order typically applies to situations when the parties are not married or related to each other; for example, in disputes between neighbors or stalking situations. This order can be obtained in District Court. There is a $53 filing fee, plus the cost of service.
No Contact Order: These types of orders can be issued as part of a pending criminal charge to prohibit communication or restrict the abuser from going to the victim's home, place of employment, school or other places where the victim is likely to be located. To obtain a No Contact Order call the prosecuting attorney/city attorney who is handling the criminal case.
How to Get a Domestic Violence Protection Order in Skagit County?
The protection order process requires appearing in court at least two different times to:
1) Request a temporary or "emergency order", and if granted,
2) Attend the full or "permanent order" hearing (this hearing may be scheduled at a different court).
Step 1: Thoroughly complete all paperwork. Be prepared to write a descriptive statement about all acts of physical violence, threats of violence, stalking, sexual assault, or fear of immediate harm, including approximate dates when these acts occurred. In your protection order paperwork, you will find a one-page sheet called the Law Enforcement Information Sheet (LEIS). The police use this form to "serve" -- or deliver in person -- your order on the respondent. They also use it to "enter" your order into the statewide law enforcement database. PLEASE NOTE: The LEIS will NOT be served on the respondent. The LEIS must be as complete as possible, including the abuser's full name, date of birth, address (work or home), and other identifying information (e.g. height, weight, eye color, driver's license #, etc.). You may still file for a protection order even if you do not have an address for the respondent, but the police may not be able to serve it without an address. You can talk with a domestic violence advocate about other ways to have the respondent served if you do not have an address for the respondent.
Step 2: Turn in your paperwork to the clerk Monday through Friday by noon. The Clerk will tell you where the courtroom is. Court is at 1:15 daily. It may take time to be seen by the judge. Please allow plenty of time.
Step 3: Once your order has been signed by the judge, go back to the clerk’s office and get at least three "certified" copies. ALWAYS keep a copy of your order with you (and if necessary, at your child(ren)'s school or daycare). The clerk will send a copy of your signed order and your petition to the police to be served on the respondent.
Step 4: Appear at your full order hearing at the time and location listed on your temporary order. Be ready to speak to the judge about the domestic violence you described in your petition. Be aware that the respondent will likely be at this hearing but may choose not to attend. REMINDER: If you do not show up for your full order hearing, your case and temporary order will be dismissed.
PLEASE NOTE: Give yourself plenty of time to go to court and complete the protection order process. It may take a couple of hours to complete paperwork and see the judge. If you have children, it is best to make childcare plans so that your children do not have to come to court with you.
Domestic Violence Protection Order Forms –English
Domestic Violence Protection Order Forms –Spanish
(Printed forms are also available at the County Clerk’s Office.)