Welcome to Skagit County

Global Menu

Welcome to Skagit County

Skagit County Logo

August 29, 2023

Call for Applications for the Skagit County Planning Commission

The Planning Commission works with the Planning and Development Services Department and advises the Department and the Board of County Commissioners on proposed land use plans and regulations in unincorporated Skagit County. 

The Planning Commission consists of nine members (three from each Commissioner District) and usually meets twice monthly in Mount Vernon at the Commissioners Administrative Building. Meetings are broadcast live on Skagit 21 and archived online. More information about the Planning Commission is available at: www.skagitcounty.net/planningcommission.

Currently, there is a vacancy in District 1 on the Planning Commission. This call for applications is for residents who live in District 1 of Skagit County and would like to be considered for a seat on the Planning Commission. The new planning commissioner would fill the existing vacancy until the end of the term on August 31, 2024.

Please use the link below for a map of the three districts in Skagit County.
Skagit County iMap

Please follow the link to access the application form: https://www.skagitcounty.net/Departments/CountyCommissioners/boardsandcommittees.htm.

You may also prepare a letter of interest with the following information:

  • Name, physical address, phone number, email address;
  • Personal statement, including any applicable expertise and experience;
  • Disclosure of membership in, or affiliation with, any relevant interest groups.

Email your application no later than Friday, September 22, 2023 at 4:30 p.m. to the Clerk of the Board of County Commissioners at commissioners@co.skagit.wa.us or by mail at 1800 Continental Place Ste 100, Mount Vernon, WA 98273.

If you have questions, please email commissioners@co.skagit.wa.us or call 360-416-1300.