Welcome to Skagit County

Global Menu

Welcome to Skagit County

Skagit County Logo

January 6, 2022

NOTICE: Individuals impacted by November Flood events can now apply for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Individual Assistance (FEMA)

Yesterday, President Biden declared a major disaster in the State of Washington, and ordered federal assistance to help those impacted by flooding and mudslides that occurred from November 13 to November 15, 2021. This action makes federal funding available to impacted individuals in Clallam, Skagit and Whatcom Counties, as well as the Lummi Nation, Nooksack Indian Tribe and the Quileute Tribe.

This process is handled entirely by FEMA and is separate from previous damage assessment information collection processes conducted by Skagit County. Those who submitted a damage assessment form to the County will need to resubmit directly to FEMA to be considered for assistance. If you did not submit a damage assessment form, but have damages related to the November 13-15, 2021 flood event, you are still eligible to apply for individual assistance from FEMA.

Impacted individuals can go to disasterassistance.gov or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply. 1-800-462-7585 is also available for those who need TTY assistance. You will need the following to complete your registration:

  • Social Security Number (SSN) OR the SSN of a minor child in the household who is a U.S. Citizen, Non-Citizen National or Qualified Alien
  • Annual Household Income
  • Contact Information (phone number, mailing address, email address*, and damaged home address)
  • Insurance Information (coverage, insurance company name, etc.)
  • Bank Account Information (if you are eligible to receive financial assistance, the money can be deposited in your account)
*You will be required to provide an email address if you want to review the status of your application online. If you do not provide an email address, you will be required to contact FEMA to review your information and receive status updates.

“We want to say a big thank you to everyone who took the time to fill out the damage assessment forms, Governor Inslee, Reps. Larsen and DelBene, and Senators Cantwell and Murray, who all supported this request for a disaster declaration to the President,” said Sheriff McDermott, who also serves as Department of Emergency Management Director. “We know many are hurting, and we hope this assistance helps.”

If you have questions or need additional information, contact the Department of Emergency Management at 360-416-1850. You may also contact the FEMA Helpline directly at 1-800-621-3362. Helpline services are available from 4 a.m. to 8 p.m. PST, 7 days a week.