Coroner's Office

Global Menu

Coroner's Office

Coroner: Hayley Thompson


Goals of the Skagit County Coroner’s Office

To serve the citizens of Skagit County by providing professional and proficient death investigations of those who die within the geographic boundaries of the county.
To research and implement new procedures to better investigate death scenes
To provide compassionate assistance to the families who have been impacted by the death of a loved one.
To provide assistance, training, and education to all agencies requesting our services
To provide a statistical annual report of deaths within the county
Prepare and plan for mass casualty incidents.
Provide for disposition of unclaimed, indigent citizens
Provide the highest quality of service to the residents of Skagit County

For more information about the applicable laws governing the Skagit County Coroner, please review the following information from the Revised Code of Washington

The Skagit County Coroner’s Office was established in 1884. The first documented Coroner was J.A Gilliland on January 8, 1884.

Past coroners
1884-1885 J.S. Church
1886-1889 James Vercoe
1890-1891 Dr. Tozier
1892-1895 W.B. Dunbar
1896-1897 J.L. Hutchison
1898-1899 James Vercoe
1900-1903 B.R. Sumner
1904-1906 J.C. Leplant
1907-1908 G.L. Wainwright
1909-1912 Rufus J. Cassel
1913-1918 Arthur F. Baker
1919-1922 Aaron Light
1923-1946 H.D. Dunham
1947-1970 Aaron Light
1971-1977 Ilo Sande
1978-1993 Frank Kendall
1994-2006 Bruce Bacon
2007-April 1, 2016 Daniel Dempsey
May 16, 2016-current Hayley L. Thompson