Auditor: Sandra Perkins
DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING
LICENSE PLATE FEE INCREASE
On March 25, 2022, Governor Inslee signed into law SB 5974, providing funding for the Move Ahead Washington transportation package.
The following fee changes will go into effect on Friday, July 1, 2022:
- For all plate types (including small trailers) except for moped and motorcycle plates:
- The Original Issue Plate fee is increasing from $10 to $50 per plate. For vehicles receiving two plates, this will appear as an increase from $20 to $100.
- The Plate Replacement fee is increasing from $10 to $30 per plate. For vehicles receiving two plates this will appear as an increase from $20 to $60.
- For motorcycle plates:
- The Original Issue Plate fee is increasing from $4 to $20 per plate.
- The Plate Replacement fee is increasing from $4 to $12 per plate.
- For moped plates, there is no change.
- The Out of State Vehicle Check fee is increasing from $15 to $50.
- Dealer Temporary permits are increasing from $15 per permit to $40.
- A new Additional Vehicle Weight fee of $10 will be charged on all vehicle registrations subject to the Vehicle Weight fee.
- A new Additional Truck Weight fee of $10 will be charged on all personal use truck registrations.
The original plate fee is charged to vehicles that have not previously had a Washington plate. This includes vehicles coming from out of state and new vehicles. The replacement plate fee is charged when the vehicle previously had a Washington plate, even when ownership is changing.
Fee changes are effective as of:
- The date of sale for Washington dealer sales.
- The transaction date for foreign dealer and private party sales.
Due to the distribution requirements of the new fee changes, it is not possible to provide a grace period for transactions which were mailed prior to July 1 and not processed until after the fee changes go into effect.