Licensing

Global Menu

Licensing

Auditor: Jeanne Youngquist

LICENSING
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Phone: (360) 416-1703
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday (excluding holidays)

For more information and answers to questions not listed here, please visit the Washington State Department of Licensing web page or call their office at (360) 902-3770.

What does it cost to license a vehicle in Washington?
What is a Quick Title and how do I get one?
Where do I get a driver's license in Skagit County?
How do I get Disabled Person ("DP") plates?
What documents are required to transfer a Washington title due to purchase or gift?
What documents are required to license a vehicle from out of state in Washington?
Do I need to have my out-of-state vehicle inspected for a Washington license?
Why do I have to get new plates when the ones on the car are fine?
Why should I submit a sellers report?
Where do I get a business license in Skagit County?
What are the donation options on my vehicle renewal about?

Back


Question: What does it cost to license a vehicle in Washington?

Visit the State Department of Licensing Web Site for a current fee schedule.

If you have questions about vehicle licensing fees:

Top


Question: What is a Quick Title and how do I get one?

A Quick Title is an immediate title transfer transaction.  For additional information regarding Quick Titles see State Department of Licensing Web Site-Quick Titles,

Top



Question: Where do I get a driver's license in Skagit County? In Skagit County driver's licenses are available at the following locations. Please call those offices for hours of operation.
  • 1920 South Third Street
    Mount Vernon
    (360) 416-7654

  • 1005 Commercial Ave, Suites C & D
    Anacortes
    (360) 588-0508

Top


Question: How do I get Disabled Person ("DP") plates? A DP application form, obtainable from any Vehicle Licensing office, needs to be completed by you and your physician. The completed form is then taken to a Vehicle Licensing office, where you may pick up your license plate and/or placard. The fee for the plate is $10.00.

Top

Question: What documents are required to transfer a Washington title due to purchase or gift? If you have purchased a Washington titled vehicle or received one as a gift, you are required to transfer the title within 15 days. After 15 days a monetary penalty will be assessed. You need to take the following documents to your local licensing agency:
  • The Current Title with the signatures of the previous owners releasing interest;

  • A Bill of Sale stating the full purchase price, or a statement of a gift signed by the previous owner;

  • If this is a gift, you will also need to provide proof of sales tax paid by the previous owner, and a completed Odometer Disclosure Statement if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.

    The cost to transfer a title is $15.50 plus sales/use tax on purchase price. Purchase price must be within $2,000 of fair market value. Sales tax is not charged on gift transactions as long as DOL gift requirements are met. License subagents charge an extra fee of $12.00 to provide licensing services to your community.

Top


Question: What documents are required to license a vehicle from out of state in Washington? If you are a new resident to Washington or have purchased a vehicle from another state, you must present the following documents to a license agency in order to obtain Washington plates, registration, and title:
  • The Out of State Title in your name, or properly released by the previous owner. If you are still making payments on the vehicle and a legal owner is holding the title, you will need a photocopy or faxed copy of the title.

  • A Bill of Sale stating the full purchase price, signed by the previous owner if the title is not in your name.

  • A completed Odometer Disclosure Statement if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.

Top


Question: Do I need to have my out-of-state vehicle inspected for a Washington license?

No, out-of-state vehicles are no longer required to be inspected. For additional information regarding vehicle inspections please visit: http://www.wsp.wa.gov/traveler/vinspect.htm


Top


Question: Why do I have to get new plates when the ones on the car are fine? Please visit the Washington State Department of Licensing information page.

Top

Question: Why should I submit a sellers report? For information about sellers reports and how it protects you, please visit the Washington State Department of Licensing information page.

Top

Question: What are the donation options on my vehicle renewal about?

When you renew your vehicle tabs, you may choose to donate to the organ donor program or the state parks programs. For more information on these choices, please visit Department of Licensing - Donations.

Top