Agriculture Advisory Board

Global Menu

Agriculture Advisory Board

Natural Resource Lands

"Honoring our past, sustaining our future, where Skagit farms are the pride of the community."

Kathy Jewell
Administrative Coordinator
1800 Continental Place
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
(360) 416-1338 office
kathyj@co.skagit.wa.us


Next Meeting:
December 12, 2018 at 6:00 pm at 1800 Continental Place.

Minutes and Agendas

farmlandThe Purpose:
The AAB shall make recommendations to the County Commissioners and the County Administrator on agricultural plans, policies, and programs concerning: a) existing and proposed legislation and regulations affecting agriculture; b) land uses as they impact agriculture; c) ways to maintain, enhance, and promote agriculture and agricultural products in the region; and d) any other agricultural issues as requested by the County Commissioners and/or consistent with the County's Comprehensive Plan.

Meetings are the second Wednesday of the month and are located at 1800 Continental Place from 7:00 - 9:00 p.m. during summer months (June-September) and 6:00- 8:00 p.m. during winter months (October- May) unless posted otherwise. The public is always welcome.


SKAGIT COUNTY AGRICULTURAL ADVISORY BOARD
Nels Lagerlund (Chair) lagerwood1@frontier.com District 1 appointment
Steve Wright swright@farmersequip.com District 1 appointment
Kraig Knutzen Kraig@knutzenfarms.com District 1 appointment
Barbara Cleave nolagranola@hotmail.com District 1 appointment
Scott Hanseth SHanseth@Washingtontractor.com District 2 appointment
John Morrison johnmorrisonfarms@gmail.com District 2 appointment
Michael Hughes (Vice Chair) michael@hughesfarms.net District 2 appointment
Greg Lee yogilee68@gmail.com District 2 appointment
Terry Sapp tfsapp@gmail.com District 3 appointment
Murray Benjamin benjaminfarms@wildblue.net District 3 appointment
Tim Van Hofwegen Tim.vanhofwegen@northwestfcs.com District 3 appointment
Steve Omdal steve@portofskagit.com District 3 appointment

The Agriculture Advisory Board (AAB) is comprised of a 12 member County Commissioner appointed board as set forth in Resolution R20020134.

The members serve a three year term that can be reappointed and the terms are staggered to ensure a consistency on the committee. Each Commissioner has four appointments
Current subcommittees are working on the following issues:

1. Flooding as it affects ag lands
2. Drainage and Irrigation
3. Critical Areas Ordinance and Agriculture related buffers
4. Ag land conversions
5. Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Code updates

Links to related information: