Press Releases

Global Menu

Press Releases


Skagit County Press Releases
Check here for the most current information released from Skagit County.
Press release archives:


Thu, 10 May 2018 07:30:00 PST
Lafayette Road construction begins Monday, May 14
Crews will make every effort to keep one lane of traffic open to drivers during construction.

Wed, 25 April 2018 07:30:00 PST
National Infant Immunization Week
Immunization: Power to Protect

Mon, 23 April 2018 11:10:00 PST
United General District 304 to Host Prescription Drug Take-Back Event April 28
Educational Service District Provides a Safe Way to Dispose of Prescription Drugs.

Fri, 20 April 2018 15:10:00 PST
Guemes Ferry Replacement Project in line for $7.5 million in state funding
Funding request will be submitted to the 2019 Legislature.

Fri, 20 April 2018 10:30:00 PST
Ferry Public Forum, Saturday, April 28
Discuss the Ferry Replacement Project, vessel replacement surcharge, and ferry fare revenue target report.

Wed, 18 April 2018 11:50:00 PST
Commissioners plan East County Public Forum for May 7
The meeting will take place in the commons room at Concrete High School.

Tue, 17 April 2018 14:30:00 PST
Public meeting April 23 for Lafayette Road improvement project
6 to 7 p.m. Monday, April 23, at the Burlington Public Library, 820 E. Washington Ave.

Tue, 10 April 2018 07:30:00 PST
Applicants sought for Noxious Weed Control Board vacancies
Interested applicants must live in the district in which they apply.

Tue, 10 April 2018 07:30:00 PST
New Lidar maps reveal fascinating details about County geology
Users see areas of the ground hidden in aerial images.

Thu, 05 April 2018 10:30:00 PST
Tue, 03 April 2018 09:10:00 PST
Mount Vernon, Skagit County plan to partner on local projects
First proposed project is a combined library, community center and public parking facility.

Wed, 28 March 2018 09:50:00 PST
Skagit Valley tulips and traffic set to bloom in April
Peak traffic expected on weekends, at SR 536/Kincaid Street exit.

Wed, 21 March 2018 09:20:00 PST
Learn about proposed EMS levy increase April 9; share comments April 16
The current EMS levy expires at the end of 2018.

Thu, 08 March 2018 13:20:00 PST
Applicants sought for Central Skagit Rural Partial-County Library District Board of Trustees
The potential appointment to the Library Board of Trustees will be for a term of five years.

Tue, 06 March 2018 09:20:00 PST
Girders for Burlington Northern Overpass arriving March 8-16
This is a big milestone for the community.

Mon, 26 February 2018 14:30:00 PST
Influenza in decline in Skagit County
Skagit County Public Health has recorded a total of 652 cases of influenza, with 99 hospitalizations and three deaths.

Wed, 21 February 2018 12:40:00 PST
Temporary emergency detour open between Prevedell, Carpenter roads
Intended for local access only. The detour is not a designated county road.

Thu, 15 February 2018 14:22:00 PST
Second flu-related death confirmed in Skagit County
Skagit County Public Health received notification that the man, in his 30s, died in late January.

Thu, 15 February 2018 14:20:00 PST
County settles suit related to illegal recycling, retail operation on Cook Road
The Settlement requires BTI to stop conducting retails sales.

Tue, 30 January 2018 08:22:00 PST
2018 property tax information now available online
Property owners can expect to receive tax statements by mid-February.

Tue, 30 January 2018 08:20:00 PST
Board of Health approves proposed secure medication return ordinance
Similar to programs underway in Snohomish and Whatcom counties.

Thu, 11 January 2018 09:30:00 PST
Mon, 08 January 2018 15:00:00 PST
Skagit County Superior Court Commissioner Brian Paxton retiring January 31
Paxton served as Court Commissioner almost 12 years.