Press Releases

Global Menu

Press Releases


Skagit County Press Releases
Check here for the most current information released from Skagit County.
Press release archives:


Fri, 25 Sep 2020 13:10:00 PST
Skagit County receives grant to support Community Court program
An alternative court program focused on low-level non-violent misdemeanor crimes.

Tue, 22 Sep 2020 15:40:00 PST
Health Officer discourages in-person trick-or-treating in light of COVID-19 pandemic
Minimizing in-person interaction with people we do not live with is vital to slowing the spread of COVID-19.

Mon, 21 Sep 2020 12:00:00 PST
Recreational, air quality burn bans lifted in Skagit County
Recreational fires are those used for cooking or pleasure.

Wed, 16 Sep 2020 12:40:00 PST
Tue, 15 Sep 2020 16:10:00 PST
Tue, 15 Sep 2020 14:30:00 PST
Mon, 14 Sep 2020 16:30:00 PST
Sun, 13 Sep 2020 13:00:00 PST
Drive Through Testing Site closed on Monday, September 14 due to unhealthy air quality
This decision was made to protect the health of test site employees and volunteers..

Thu, 10 Sep 2020 13:20:00 PST
Skagit Drive Through Testing Site closed due to air quality concerns
The site will be closed as of 1:00 p.m. today, September 10, and will remain closed through tomorrow, September 11, 2020.

Wed, 09 Sep 2020 17:40:00 PST
Air Quality Burn Ban now in effect in Skagit County
This burn ban is in conjunction with the July 24 safety burn ban already in place.

Thu, 03 Sep 2020 16:20:00 PST
Skagit County to adjust hours at drive through site to better accommodate working people
The new hours of operation will begin Monday, September 21, 2020.

Wed, 26 Aug 2020 15:30:00 PST
Fri, 21 Aug 2020 16:10:00 PST
COVID-19 Updates from Skagit County
Skagit County to prioritize testing site for Skagit residents and workers.

Fri, 21 Aug 2020 06:30:00 PST
Thu, 20 Aug 2020 16:30:00 PST
Toxic Algae present in Pass Lake
People should not swim in Pass Lake drink lake water or allow pets to access the lake water

Fri, 14 Aug 2020 16:30:00 PST
It's been a while... a Phase 2 Refresher
We didn't expect to be in Phase 2 this long...

Thu, 13 Aug 2020 12:30:00 PST
Shellfish Harvesting Closures expanded in Skagit County due to Elevated Biotoxins
This closure begins August 12, 2020 and expands the earlier closures

Mon, 10 Aug 2020 12:30:00 PST
Wed, 05 Aug 2020 13:00:00 PST
Randall-Grutter honored as "County Engineer of the Year"
The award was presented on Tuesday, August 4

Sat, 01 Aug 2020 15:40:00 PST
Mount Vernon property inspections to begin in August 2020.
The last inspection for this area was 2015.

Mon, 27 Jul 2020 15:40:00 PST
Skagit County Public Health Officer Dr. Howard Leibrand extends guidance on large events through end of 2020.
Extension was supported unanimously by the Skagit County Board of Health.

Fri, 24 Jul 2020 15:40:00 PST
Governor Inslee Announces changes to the Safe Start Reopening Washington Plan.
Skagit County currently meets one of the five metrics. .

Mon, 20 Jul 2020 07:50:00 PST
Burn Ban takes effect July 24 for all of Skagit County.
Will go into effect at noon Friday, July 24, and continue until further notice. .

Tue, 14 Jul 2020 15:40:00 PST
Remember, it's still safest to stay close to home this summer.
Skagit County has seen a number of cases due to travel out of county.

Mon, 13 Jul 2020 14:00:00 PST
Skagit County Board of Commissioners seeks applicants for County Board of Health.
The Board of Health partners with the Public Health Department.

Mon, 13 Jul 2020 13:00:00 PST
Skagit County, EDASC now accepting applications for countywide small business grant program.
Designed to support small businesses and nonprofits adversely impacted by COVID-19.

Fri, 10 Jul 2020 13:00:00 PST
Mon, 06 Jul 2020 17:30:00 PST
Thu, 02 Jul 2020 19:51:00 PST
Gather Safe, Gather Small this Fourth of July
COVID-19 spreads quickly in large groups.

Fri, 26 Jun 2020 15:51:00 PST
COVID-19 update from Skagit County
Skagit County Remains in Phase 2

Thu, 26 Jun 2020 20:15:00 PST
COVID-19 update from Skagit County
Centers for Disease Control expanded the list of people at risk

Tue, 23 Jun 2020 20:15:00 PST
Mon, 15 Jun 2020 14:06:00 PST
A Call to Action- Racism and Health Inequities
Skagit County Public Health is repulsed and outraged by the senseless killing of George Floyd.

Fri, 12 Jun 2020 16:50:00 PST
Skagit County Commissioners release statement on George Floyd
Improving Skagit County for residents of color.

Thu, 11 Jun 2020 16:30:00 PST
Tue, 09 Jun 2020 16:15:00 PST
Fri, 05 Jun 2020 10:15:00 PST
Skagit County Moves to Phase 2 of Safe Start plan
Businesses must be able to comply with issued guidelines.

Thu, 04 Jun 2020 16:19:00 PST
Wed, 03 Jun 2020 15:30:00 PST
Tue, 02 Jun 2020 18:00:00 PST
Stay Home, Stay Healthy Updates from Skagit County
Skagit is getting ready for Phase 2. What does that mean for me?

Fri, 29 May 2020 17:10:00 PST
Skagit County Board of Health approves, submits Phase 2 Variance Application
The completed application meets the criteria outlined by the Governor.

Thu, 28 May 2020 18:00:00 PST
Stay Home, Stay Healthy Updates from Skagit County
Importance of Childhood Vaccinations.

Tue, 26 May 2020 18:00:00 PST
Stay Home, Stay Healthy Updates from Skagit County
Skagit County to request Phase 2 Variance.

Fri, 03 Apr 2020 16:00:00 PST
The Importance of Stay Home, Stay Healthy
Order extended through May 4, 2020

Thu, 02 Apr 2020 16:00:00 PST
Public Health Launches Skagit Health Connection Blog
Stories of people persevering and some lightness to ease our uncertainty.

Wed, 01 Apr 2020 16:45:00 PST
Social Services available to Skagit County Residents
Stay home, stay healthy. The only way for us to stop the spread of COVID-19 is to stay home as much as possible.

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 12:45:00 PST
Six COVID-19 Cases at Long-Term Care Facility.
One resident and five staff members at Prestige Care and Rehabilitation in Burlington.

Tue, 24 Mar 2020 2:10:00 PST
Stay Home, Stay Healthy
Briefly: What does Governor Inslee's order mean for me?

Mon, 23 Mar 2020 2:10:00 PST
First COVID-19 Death of Skagit County Resident.
The individual was a patient at Skagit Valley Hospital.

Sun, 22 Mar 2020 10:30:00 PST
Resident of Anacortes Retirement Community Tests Positive for COVID-19.
The individual is hospitalized at Island Hospital, expected to be released.

Sat, 21 Mar 2020 10:10:00 PST
Public Health investigating cluster of related COVID-19 cases.
Avoid non-essential contact to limit virus spread.

Mon, 16 Mar 2020 13:30:00 PST
Updated Social Distancing Information
There is more transmission of novel coronavirus in Skagit County than the confirmed case count indicates.

Sat, 14 Mar 2020 13:30:00 PST
Community Transmission of COVID-19 | Espanol
Community transmission of novel coronavirus is occurring in Skagit County.

Mon, 10 Mar 2020 14:30:00 PST
Skagit County COVID-19 Positive Case
The patient is a female in her 40s and is at home on isolation.

Mon, 10 Mar 2020 10:50:00 PST
Declaration of Emergency and Health Officer Recommendations
The Skagit County Board of Commissioners declares a public health emergency on COVID-19.

Wed, 04 Mar 2020 10:50:00 PST
Novel Coronavirus - COVID-19
Skagit County Public Health is closely monitoring the Novel Coronavirus outbreak in Washington State.

Mon, 02 Mar 2020 7:00:00 PST
Skagit County Board of Commissioners seeks applicants for County Board of Health
The Board of Commissioners strives to ensure the Board of Health is balanced by representing a range of perspectives and expertise.

Tue, 12 Feb 2020 10:15:00 PST
2020 Property Tax Statements Arriving Soon
2020 will bring increases for most taxpayers.

Tue, 21 Jan 2020 08:00:00 PST
Fri, 10 Jan 2020 08:00:00 PST