#### **SKAGIT COUNTY**

#### SHORELINE MANAGEMENT MASTER PROGRAM

Prepared by the Skagit County Citizens Advisory Committee as appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, with assistance from the Technical Advisory Committee and the County Planning Department.

## December, 1976

"Preparation and printing of this document was aided by the Washington State Office of Community Development through a grant from HUD under the provisions of Section 701 of the Housing Act of 1954, as amended, grants from the Department of Ecology with funds obtained from the Department of Commerce (NOAA) under the provisions of Section 305 and 306 of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, and a grant from the Washington State Department of Ecology under Section 25 of the Shoreline Management Act of 1971." Questions concerning this document should be directed to the County Planning Department, County Administration Building, Mount Vernon, Washington 98273, phone 336-9333.

Reprinted December 1983.

# SKAGIT COUNTY SHORELINE MANAGEMENT MASTER PROGRAM

Prepared by the Skagit County Planning Department

	Director
CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION	
This is to certify that the text of the Shoreline Mahereby adopted by:	anagement Master Program of Skagit County is
The Skagit County Planning Commission on June 7, 1976	The Board of County Commissioners on June 29, 1976
Chairman	Chairman
Vice-Chairman	Commissioner
Secretary	Commissioner
This text together with the Shoreline Area Management Master Program of Skagit County.	Designation Map comprises the Shoreline

# SKAGIT COUNTY SHORELINE AREA DESIGNATION MAP

# PREPARED BY THE SKAGIT COUNTY PLANNING DEPARTMENT

	DIRECTOR
CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION	
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE OFFIC	IAL SHORELINE AREA DESIGNATION MAP
FOR SKAGIT COUNTY IS HEREBY ADOP	
THE SKAGIT COUNTY PLANNING	THE BOARD OF COUNTY
COMMISSION ON JUNE 7, 1976	COMMISSIONERS ON JUNE 29, 1976
CHAIRMAN	CHAIRMAN
VICE-CHAIRMAN	COMMISSIONER
SECRETARY	COMMISSIONER
	SHORELINE MASTER PROGRAM TEXT EMENT MASTER PROGRAM FOR SKAGIT

COUNTY.

October 5, 1976

The Honorable Howard A. Miller Chairman, Skagit County Commissioners Skagit County Courthouse Mount Vernon, Washington 98273

Dear Commissioner Miller:

We have reviewed Skagit County's Shoreline Management Master Program and want to express our appreciation to you, the Citizen Advisory and Technical Committee, your planning department and all others who participated to develop this excellent document. It is with great pleasure that I approve your program, the last among the coastal counties, for it is indeed an exceptionally well written program with an especially sensitive approach to the management of the aquatic areas. It shows that the people of Skagit County recognize the value of their shoreline resources and want to assure the protection of those resources as well as proper development in suitable locations.

The few minor concerns and suggestions for future improvements are summarized and discussed in our staff review comments.

We thank you again for your efforts and cooperation and wish you success in continued shoreline management.

Sincerely,

John A. Biggs Director

JAB:lr

Enclosure

cc: Skagit Regional Planning Council

## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

#### SKAGIT COUNTY

## **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

Howard A. Miller, Chairman

Jack C. Wylie

William Sullivan

# PLANNING COMMISSION

John Garner, Chairman Bernice Magin

Gene Sargent Fred Vochatzer

Axel Christensen Kenneth Kaaland

Raymond Arnold Claude Hoffman

William Vaux

# **CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

Marvin Wilbur Gordon Elliott, Chairman Robert Jenner Jim Hinton Ray Drake, Jr. Keith Wiggers Barbara Eubanks Tomasina Clarke Al Henke Ernie Green Ron Wolff Don Zorn George Theodoratus Jerry Presler Bill Barr Dick Steele **Larry Harris** Curtis Johnson William Wells Bob Rancanello Lloyd Ivey Paul Blau Margaret Yeoman L. E. Edwards Barbara James **David Cherrick** Dan Coleman Kirby Johnson Dale Bonner John Gierlich Gary McMillen Dan Beatty Ralph Moberg Herb Sargo John Carlson Winton Olson Mike Youngquist Dick Flickinger Einer Knutzen **Stewart Thomas** James Dunlap Joe Cornet Dick Hoover Jack Webb Ralph Jackson **Bob Geisen** Dan Wollam John Leonard

Herbert Kretchman

Noel Paus

Glen Veal Sarah Werner

Gordon Coey

# TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

<u>Member</u> <u>Organization</u>

Larry Brewer State Department of Game

Lanche Crow Skagit County Parks Department

Jack Doty Public Utility District No. 1

Frank Easter/Clarence Kelly U.S. Soil Conservation Service

William Gray WSU Cooperative Extensive Service

Norm Hesseldahl U.S. Forest Service (Seattle)

Roger Jensen U.S. Forest Service (Concrete)

Bob Keller Port of Anacortes

Gary Kuipers/Lowell White National Park Service

Mike Moyer Swinomish Indian Reservation

Russell Orell State Department of Fisheries

Eugene Pohner Washington State Parks

Harold Strobel/Bill Wilburn State Department of Natural Resources

Ken Tupper State Department of Game

Duane Wegner State Department of Ecology

Ernie White Scott Paper Company

## SKAGIT COUNTY PLANNING DEPARTMENT

Robert C. Schofield, Director

David C. Hough, Zoning Administrator

Stephen H. Harvey, Project Planner

Otto M. Walberg

William Shuler

Christopher Allen

Paul Shelver

Grace Roeder

Jean Linde